Q&A to Scientology poster

The question was posed to http://myscientology.blogspot.com back in July of this year.

Question:
I have a bit of a problem with a contradiction that is displayed here in your post.

Scientology says: “Man is an immortal, spiritual being”

yet Scientology also says: “In Scientology no one is asked to accept anything as belief or on faith. That which is true for you is what you have observed to be true.”

This to me seems like a clear contradiction, seeing as the former is a belief and the latter states that you need no belief and that anything that is true is observable.

The latter part of that makes me also think that if you are also stating that things that are true are observable then you have scientific evidence of the spirit and immortality.

Can you please explain this in more depth as I am trying to approach Scientology from an unbiased viewpoint.

Answer:
In Scientology a person is not expected to believe anything.

I was an atheist when I first came across Scientology. I didn’t just blindly believe the idea that I was a spiritual being, but I got so many gains from my first course that I was willing to “suspend my disbelief” until I could check it out and get some personal reality on the spiritual being thing, which I eventually did.

So from my own personal experiences in Scientology (when undergoing the spiritual counseling) I have observed that I am an immortal spiritual being.

If the idea that one is an immortal, spiritual being is just too much for a person to take and he/she isn’t willing to wait until they get some personal reality on it, then Scientology probably isn’t for them.

My view on the answer:
This is the question that I posted a while ago on MyScientologyBlog’s post titled ‘So what do we believe?’ (http://myscientology.blogspot.com/2008/07/so-what-do-we-believe.html), the question was quite specific and detailed in its asking yet the answer I got was a ‘this is my life’ response. ‘This is how it happened for me, maybe it can happen for you too, but if it doesn’t then maybe Scientology just isn’t for you’.This to me, is a very unhelpful answer as the Scientology Doctrines say that they believe in a ‘spirit’ but that apparently Scientologists are ‘not expected to believe in anything’. If I can’t cope with their belief, which remember isn’t actually a belief, then Scientology ‘probably isn’t for [them] you’.

It begs the question, can I be a Scientologists without believing in a spirit, and if I can’t, then surely Scientology requires that you believe in something and thus is has some fundamental ideals? It seems blatantly obvious that there is a contradiction here, am I alone in thinking this I don’t know, but I’d like a clearer answer from a Scientologist, not just a shrugged off ‘If you can’t cope with it then you don’t have to believe in Scientology’ because that just highlights the contradiction and the closed minded nature of Scientologists (if truely they are closed minded which I leave for another post on Squirrelling).

2 Responses to Q&A to Scientology poster

  1. Chuck Beatty says:

    I went from atheist to Scientologist, and my beliefs about us being spirits (Scientology calls us “thetans” in our bodies, running our bodies like puppets and Scientology makes us “operating thetans” who can fly out of our skulls and do things as pure souls, not really, but that’s the hyped con of the Scientology mysticism) I had a collapse in this fantasy crap.

    I think materialism is real, since I found NO Scientologists EVER demonstrating their pure soul, out of the body, powers! Never! Not in 30 years elbow to elbow with them.

    Only lame “success stories” that were strained.

    Listen to the 2nd graduation, in 1968, when the top Hubbard supporters were giving their lackluster “success stories” in Jan 1968, aboard Hubbard’s ship in the mediteranean, no the coast of Spain. Those supporters were the fresh new crop of Hubbard chaperoned people to do the Hubbard procedures to rid themselves of their loads of “body thetans” (hitch-hiking souls that infest us all today, and which Hubbard’s OT 3 procedures first train you to believe you are infested with these surplus souls, and then OT 3 procedures train you how to get rid of these surplus “body thetans”).

    No, the Scientology new religion is a science fiction UFO therapy, blaming mental illness no mental imagery that we as our own soul accumulated in our past lives, and also scientology blames our mental trouble on the imagery in the minds of all the hitchhiking souls that Hubbard says infest us!

    so Hubbard’s Scientology says our troubles are in our own soul’s mind, and in the minds of all the souls that infest us.

    That is the simplicity of Scientology/Hubbard, and the “body thetans” part the Scientologists are NOT allowed to tell freely, since that is confidential.

    But the simplicity of Scientology is our troubles are mental turmoil from out own soul’s mental images, and from the mental images from the tens of thousands of souls that infest us.

    Chuck Beatty, ex Scientology staffer, 1975-2003, Pittsburgh, 412-260-1170

  2. Jay says:

    Hi –

    I’ve been a Scientologist for about 35 years. It’s true that, generally speaking, Scientologists do believe that we are all immortal spiritual beings. Any Scientologist is free to disagree with that, if it’s not true for him or her. People who are starting to study Scientology should approach it by looking for useful information — what’s true for them is true for them. Maybe the bit about being an immortal spiritual being is not very real to them and doesn’t ring true. But there’s plenty of other information and tools in Scientology that one can use. For me, it was the very clear explanation of communication, and an actual workable communication formula. Using that formula, for the first time in my life I was able to communicate with anyone, about nearly anything. That tool was really real to me when I first came aboard as a Scientologist. I kept scanning through materials looking for things that were real to me and that I could use. There were lots of such tools.

    At no time did anyone ever say to me, “You have to believe this”. Nobody ever twists your arm. As the old saw goes, “You can lead a horse to knowledge, but you can’t make him think.”

    The best way, really, to learn Scientology and see if it is true for you is to read one of the basic books on it. If you don’t get anything out of it you can use, if nothing in it is “true for you”, then you don’t need to go any further into it.

    Jerry Seinfeld said that the communication skills he learned 30 some years ago in Scientology were very helpful. That didn’t stop him from poking fun at it in his TV show, but still — he obviously took something positive away from the experience. He learned something and used it therafter.

    One of the definitions of Scientology is that it’s an applied religious philosophy. We USE the tools within Scientology to do things that can be extremely difficiult if not impossible, without them.

    Does that help answer your question?

Leave a Reply

