KickAss

I had been meaning to read the KickAss comic for quite some time and with the release of the movie I took the jump and bought the graphic novel.

Kickass, for those who don’t know is a comic about a kid who decides to don a lycra suit and mask to fight crime. Gets the crap beaten out of him, and then the story goes on. The comic has been so popular that it has already been made in to a movie that has just been released here in the UK.

In the beginning I found it to be really engaging, the characters were my type of people, geeky, inquisitive and witty.  I, and loads of others I assume, could relate to the comic geekery, the hoarding of comics and wonder at how no one could have tried to be a super hero (which still does beg the question, how has no one done this yet?).

The story progresses quite happily for quite some time and it’s predictable but interesting and new, then, out of nowhere it falls like shit from a plane. ¬†Although I didn’t anticipate the twist I can see it being quite easy to predict and by the end I was pretty annoyed at how it had all gone.

I’m happy to say that the setup for the sequel made me want to vomit and cry with disapointment. I want to start reading it monthly but I don’t to start paying for it, I just hope that Nemesis is a little better.

One Response to KickAss

  1. phuketdaze says:

    Sounds an interesting read and movie.
    I’ll keep an eye out for it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

